Windows Shared Printer Settings

Last Updated: October 08, 2026

The following is an overview of the settings used to create a connection to shared TCP / IP printers.

To access the Agent settings go to Tools then Settings then Client.

Connection to Shared Printers Settings

To view shared printer connection settings, scroll to the Printer Settings section.

Printer Settings section showing "Create connections to shared TCP/IP printers" options.

Create connections to shared TCP/IP printers

Select this option to create a network printer connection (instead of a TCP / IP printer) from a print server that has the Agent installed.

The printer must be deployed to a print server with the Shared option selected on the printer's Deploy tab.

Only apply in terminal services sessions
Select this option to make only printers installed in Citrix or a terminal services session shared printers. Printers installed on workstations will be TCP / IP.
Allow direct IP printers to be installed from the portal
Select this option If you want PrinterLogic to create a TCP / IP printer if it cannot find a shared printer server deployment for the printer you are attempting to install. If you do not select this option, PrinterLogic generates an error message instead of creating a TCP / IP printer.

Windows Shared Printer Settings

These options impact environments using Windows Print Server Links.

Windows Shared Printer Settings section showing options for creating workstation and user printers and removing printer connections.

Create / Delete Global Printers (Per-Workstation)

Select this option if you want any printer installed from the portal to be automatically available to all users who sign in to the workstation.

We do not recommend turning on this option.

Create / Delete User Printers (Per-User)
By default this option is selected. Any printers installed from the portal are available only to the user who installed them.
Remove end-user printers connections from roaming profiles
Select this option to remove all shared printers from a user's roaming profile. This features is useful when users sign in to workstations at different locations.
Remove all end-users printers connections when a user logs in to a terminal server:
Select this option to remove all shared printers when a user signs in to a Citrix session or Terminal Services session.